|Kanthimathi Amman Temple Tower|
Originally, Nellaiyappar temple and Kanthimathi temple were built as two separate temples with space in between. It was in the year of 1647 AD, a devotee named Thiru Vadamalaiappa Pillaiyan linked both the temples by building 'Sangili Mandapam' (chain mandapa/hall). The Nellaiyappar temple is 850 feet long and 756 feet broad. The Kanthimathi temple is almost of the similar extent. Both the temples have Raja Gopurams (towers) at their respective entrances. Apart from these two main temple towers, there are three more small towers in the temple.
|Nellaiyappar Temple Tower|
Nellaiyappar and Kanthimathi temple has five cars for Nellaiyappar, Kanthimathi, Ganesha, Muruga, and Chandikeswara. Nellaiyappar car is the third largest car in Tamil Nadu state. The car festival is one of the famous festivals celebrated in the Nellaiyappar and Kanthimathi temple.
The shrine has 32 theerthams (temple tanks) out of which 4 theerthams are located inside the temple; the rest are located outside the temple.
The Nellaiyappar and Kanthimathi temple is located at the center and surrounded by four main roads called as North Car Street, East Car Street, South Car Street, and West Car Street.
Let us explore more details about the interior temple structure in the next blog post....till then...
|A Female carrying a Child|
Site Name: Nellaiyappar and Kanthimathi Temple
View Larger Map